I think I’m in love

28 Jan

Introducing Bullen, a new typeface by Seattle designer and typographer Juliet Shen. I learned about Bullen while interviewing Shen about Lushootseed, another typeface she recently designed. Bullen is named after Henry Lewis Bullen (1857 – 1938), the printer and librarian who established the Typographic Library and Museum at the American Type Founders Company (ATF) in Elizabeth, New Jersey. ATF was once this country’s largest manufacturer of metal type. The library’s collection is now held at Columbia University in New York.

But never mind that. Just look at that ampersand. There’s a lovely pilcrow. And that double dagger. The italic x…! My only regret? I’d like a lighter weight.

I tried to get my friends on Facebook to persuade me against buying the typeface, to come to my office and confiscate my credit card. But they egged me on. That’s what I get for having so many friends with the same illness….

Leave a Reply

