Catalog Living

30 Dec

Good news, Gary. Another couple has declined our New Year’s Eve invitation because our living room makes them seasick.

Meet Gary and Elaine, fictional occupants of the super glossy pages that arrive bound as catalogs in your mailbox. I needed a break from some tedious assembly work this morning (the 3-ring binder kind, sadly not anything that would appear in this resource I’m sharing), and Catalog Living came to my rescue, thanks to a reference heard on NPR last week. It is the creation of a Los Angeles writer & actor named Molly Erdman. I’m going to put it right up there with RegretsyCake Wrecks, and Unhappy Hipsters. I’ve drooled over catalogs since I was a girl, and the older I get, the more I realize that they portray an improbable–and sometimes irrational–world.

Leave a Reply

