“…then each of us will have two ideas.”

18 Oct

I’ve been out of town for a few days to attend a printmaking conference, and I’ve been so busy absorbing new information that I haven’t had a good chance to write a decent post. But I do want to share this George Bernard Shaw quote I found at the Walker Art Center in Minneapolis the other day:

“If you have an apple and I have an apple and we exchange apples then you and I each have an apple. But if you have an idea and I have an idea and we exchange ideas, then each of us will have two ideas.”

This is one big reason why we meet twice a week for class, even if there isn’t a scheduled critique. And it’s worth noting that, as an instructor, I’m a perennially thankful recipient of the ideas as well.

Leave a Reply

