Use your tools, your voice.

11 Oct

Last week, a former student of mine sent me a link to a lovely video titled Thoughts On My Bike. There are many things to like about this piece: I am especially interested in the intersection of hand-drawn art (drawing, painting) and new technology (video, internet). I’ve been thinking about this a lot lately. Too often, we think of these things as being separate from one another… black or white… Luddite or techie. But to me, the potential of contemporary design and art lies in the ability to use the tools you have available to you to best express your vision.

Further inquiry revealed that Thoughts On My Bike was made by Andrea Dorfman, the same person who made How To Be Alone, one of my favorite viral videos of the past year. In How To Be Alone, Dorfman celebrates the ins and outs of solitude over a really lovely soundtrack. More, please.

4 Responses to “Use your tools, your voice.”

  1. Lucy October 17, 2010 at 8:59 pm #

    Cool! Very Juno-esque

    • Karina October 18, 2010 at 11:33 am #

      Yes! I don’t know if it is a generational style, but there’s a good creative sensibility out there for sure, rooted in the everyday experience of the common person.

  2. Lisa Higgs November 4, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    Have you ever seen the motion poems site – Todd Boss (MN poet) has many posted on YouTube, but I think they have a motionpoems website. Probably could google. I find them pretty amazing.

    • cutlerlake November 4, 2010 at 11:39 am #

      Oh, I am definitely going to follow up on that! My (proposed) sabbatical next year is going to be about maps (and therefore type) in motion. And I’m all for poetry!

Leave a Reply

