Six feet tall (and absolutely beautiful).

13 Sep

Unless you are living under a rock, you are aware that the new NFL season is underway. (And the Packers have an undefeated record so far! In the regular season, anyway.) Since this is my platform for such a thing, I’d like to give a shout out to the gorgeous numbers that indicate yards on the gridiron. I’ve enjoyed them since I was a kid.

While cursory research didn’t turn up the exact typeface (if you know, tell me), the numbers seem very similar to a Clarendon. I was able to find measurement specs: the numbers on the field are six feet tall and can be upwards of four feet wide. Point size? Good question.

If you want to admire some other beautiful digits, I suggest Hoefler & Frere-Jones’ Numbers typeface. Lovely.

And Go, Pack, Go!

Leave a Reply

